h1

March 11, 2010

Season 1 Episode 6 Judgment

I watched the last episode of season one the Sunday afternoon after my daughter Meira was born. Me and my wife did not sleep the night before so she was sleeping while I had the kid. Meira seemed to enjoy it she kept making funny faces, but then she made a massive poop so it was probably gas. I guess I felt the same way she did about the show.

There were parts that made me giggle, but was it just gas? For instance Gareth’s “So, What’s an elf?” was one of the funniest things he said so far, it was set up perfectly timing was beautiful I was laughing. However, the whole scene just makes no sense. I understand that layoffs are the theme, but David doesn’t have the ability to lay anyone off. Let alone a forklift driver in the warehouse. He would make the warehouse foreman lay him off, or HR, or if there was no one else Gareth. It just doesn’t with the David I’ve got to know over the season.

My next little misplaced fuzzy feeling was the Tim and Gareth bit. It was just that a Tim and Gareth bit like a cut to the itchy and scratchy show In the Simpsons, funny but where did that fit in? Don’t get me wrong it was spot on Gareth had say “Maybe I should just hand them out to rival companies” and then stop once Donna asks him to. But funny should not be the criteria for putting a scene in to an episode, Tim has already decided to quit and we know why the dead end job having to deal with Gareth’s nonsense and David’s ego. The scene adds nothing to their dynamic or to the episode it’s just a funny time filling segue way to the actual episode.

The actual episode was too classic to actually be spectacular. David has the chance to get a promotion or save his branch and even with all of his “”family” talk and one organism spiel he jumps to take the promotion. Following classic sitcom strategy the end of every season needs the De Ex Macina, and at the last moment the David loses the promotion due to a medical condition and Tim is brought back from the brink of extinction with a promotion. It could be my lack of sleep, but I actually think it’s the fact that I’ve come to expect more from The Office than the classic sitcom in an office setting, that made me cover my daughters eyes during David’s ending monologue.

I give this episode an unsizzling 2.5

Leave a Reply

