h1

February 26, 2010

Season 1, Episode 4: Training 

This was one of the funniest episodes I’ve watched in a long time. However, it was also the worst episode of The Office that I have seen so far. The struggle between David and the trainer is epic, I loved it. The part where they are both trying to talk over each other is perfect. I almost cried when Gareth said his fantasy, the humor really kicks in at this point. For me it was like watching an episode in the 7th season of Friends, everyone has their rolls and they hit their marks perfectly, like good standup comedy. Unfortunately, also like the 7th season of friends some scenes are put in to move the underlying storyline of the general show, but it just doesn’t fit with the episode it’s in. by this I mean the Tim Dawn romance.

Don’t get me wrong, I know the inherent awkwardness of interoffice romance. I’m no stranger to it, I’ve personally been involved with them and I see coworkers fall in them all the time. I think it is an integral part of making The Office work, but half of why these situations are so tragically funny is because they are just below the surface and never right in your face. The hair thing, and the birthday cap thing, and the drinks that are always talked about but never happen are perfect. Real scenes with breakups and rebounds just don’t fit with the episode; you would need a different type of episode for that.

This episode was about David’s insane need for control and validation. That part was done masterfully, it was hilarious. I could not stop laughing when he pulled a Gareth and let the instructor do his job with David’s permission. but the funniest part is when he breaks out the guitar, and Tim goes “He went home to get it”.

I give it a 3

2 comments

  1. Hey Brian, really good job giving clear, honest opinions to the show. I like that most of these posts are not just re-caps of the episode, but more personal. Good job! otherwise try to answer more questions on the sheet!! 🙂


    • am i supposed to tell you that i posted more?



Leave a Reply

